European Territorial Cooperation (ETC)

The primary goal of the European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is to facilitate and promote cross-border, transnational and interregional cooperation and direct contact, supporting economic and social development and environmental protection in border areas. Three types of operational programme have been implemented:

  • transborder cooperation, which aims to develop common, local and regional initiatives in border areas;
  • transnational cooperation, aimed toward integration across the European Union brought about by supporting accessibility, equal development in local areas, innovation and protection of the natural environment;
  • interregional cooperation, facilitating the exchange of experience and best practice in such areas as support for knowledge-based innovation and management, and environmental protection.

Lubuskie has launched two transborder cooperation programmes, namely Poland (Lubuskie) – the Federal State of Brandeburg, and Poland (the Lubuskie and Lower Silesian Voivodeships) – the Federal State of Saxony 2007-2013.